Main Menu ×

Community Clinic Association of Los Angeles County

Policy Café Sponsorship

Policy Cafe Logo
The Policy Café breakfast series brings together clinics, policymakers, community leaders, researchers and other stakeholders for timely discussions on the issues impacting Los Angeles County’s health care landscape. From the state budget and Medi-Cal, to issues at the federal level, and discussions on specific issues impacting the health of our communities, the series drives dialogue on today’s hot topics. No podium. No PowerPoint. Just frank conversation.

Since 2020, Policy Cafe has been held virtually via Zoom enabling a broader audience and wider range of guests. Future plans involve a mix of virtual and in-person events depending on guest and venue availability.

Become a Sponsor of The 2024-2025 Policy Café Series!

CCALAC Policy Café Sponsor Prospectus


For information on upcoming Policy Cafe events, click here.

Thank you to our current Policy Café Sponsors:



2023 Policy Café Speakers

Jackie Contreras, Ph.D., Director of LA County Department of Public Social Services
Toby Douglas, Senior Vice President Medicaid, Kaiser Permanente
Arif Shaikh, Director, Medi-Cal Line of Business, Kaiser Permanente
Amanda Flaum, Vice President of Medicaid Line of Business for California and Hawaii, Kaiser Permanente
State Senator Caroline Menjivar, District 20

2022 Policy Café Speakers

Cary Sanders, Senior Policy Director, CPEHN
Stephanie Landrum-Hall​, Senior Manager of Community Grants and Public Affairs, Health Net​
Anthony Wright, Executive Director, Health Access California
Sandra Hernández, MD, President & CEO, California Health Care Foundation

2021 Policy Café Speakers

Mario Perez, Director of Division of HIV  and STD Programs at LADPH
Craig Thompson, CEO of APLA Health
Martha Guzman Aceves, CPUC Commissioner
State Senator Lena Gonzalez, District 33
Mayra E. Alvarez, President and CEO, The Children’s Partnership

2020 Policy Café Speakers

Heidi Marston, Executive Director of LAHSA
Congresswoman Karen Bass (CA-37)
Dr. Gary Segura, Dean, UCLA Luskin School of Public Affairs

2019 Policy Café Speakers

Senator Holly Mitchell, Senate District 30, Chair of the Senate Budget Committee
Kim Belshé, MPP, Executive Director of First 5 LA
Assemblymember Sydney Kamlager-Dove, District 54
Jim Hickman, MBA, CEO of Center for Youth Wellness

2018 Policy Café Speakers

Dr. Maritza Cabezas, DDS, MPH, Dental Director, Los Angeles Department of Public Health Oral Health Program
Phil Ansell, Director, Los Angeles County Homeless Initiative
Clare Fox, Executive Director, Los Angeles Food Policy Council
Mark Schuster, MD, PhD, Founding Dean and CEO, Kaiser Permanente School of Medicine


Previous Speakers

Bob Baxter, Chief of the LIHP Implementation Section, CADHCS
Erica Murray, Senior Vice President, California Association of Public Hospitals
John Wallace, Chief Operating Officer, L.A. Care Health Plan
David Panush, Director of Government Affairs, Covered California
Lucy Quacinella, Founder and Principal, Multiforum Advocacy Solutions
Anthony Wright, Executive Director, Health Access California
Assembly Member Matthew Dababneh
Howard Kahn, CEO of L.A. Care Health Plan
Kim Belshé, Senior Policy Advisor the Public Policy Institute of California (PPIC)
Sandra Shewry, California Healthcare Foundation’s Director of State Health Policy
Dr. Peter Long, Blue Shield of California Foundation
Dr. Paul Song, Visiting Fellow with the Office of the California Insurance Commissioner
Dr. Mitchell Katz, Director, LA County Department of Health Services
Burt Margolin, President of the Margolin Group
Dr. Shana Lavarreda, Director of Health Insurance Studies, UCLA Center for Health Policy Research
Judith Solomon, Vice President for Health Policy, Center on Budget and Policy Priorities
Gerald F. Kominski, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Health Policy and Management, UCLA Fielding School of Public Health
Senator Ed Hernandez, O.D.
Dr. Beatriz Solis, The California Endowment
Toby Douglas, California Department of Health Care Services
Andy Schneider JD, Medicaid Policy, LLC
Senator Carol Liu
Assembly Member Mike Eng JD
Sarah Varney, Health Reporter for KQED Radio
Richard Kipling, Managing Editor at the Center for Health Reporting
Herb K. Schultz, Regional Director, US Department of Health and Human Services
Dr. E. Richard Brown, Director UCLA Center for Health Policy Research
Robert Hertzberg, California Forward
Jean Ross, California Budget Project
David Holtzman, President, League of Women Voters of Los Angeles
Brendan Huffman, Huffman Public Affairs
Xavier Becerra, U.S. Representative, CA District 34
Dan Castillo, Chief Executive Officer, LAC+USC Medical Center
Holly Mitchell, Senator, District 30
Supervisor Sheila Kuehl, LA County Supervisor, District 3
Zev Yaroslavsky, LA County Supervisor, District 3 (ret.)
Hilda Solis, LA County Supervisor, District 1
Gabrielle Lessard, Health Policy Attorney, National Immigration Law Center
Reshma Shamasunder, Executive Director, California Immigrant Policy Center
Jayanth Kumar, DDS, MPH California State Dental Director
Jennifer Kent, MPA, Director of California Department of Health Care Services
Ricardo Lara, California State Senator
Cynthia Buiza, Executive Director of the California Immigrant Policy Center
Clemens Hong, MD, MPH, Medical Director, Community Health Improvement, Los Angeles County Department of Health Services
Dr. Ed Hernandez, MD, California State Senator
David E. Hayes-Bautista, Ph.D.,  Director of the Center for the Study of Latino Health and Culture at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA
Rusty Selix, J.D., Executive Director for Public Policy and Legislative Advocate for Mental Health America of California
Karen Baylor, Ph.D., Deputy Director of Mental Health and Substance Use Disorders for the Department of Health Care Services
Representative Judy Chu, District 27
Beth H. Parker, Chief Legal Counsel of Planned Parenthood Affiliates of California
Sue Dunlap, President and CEO, Planned Parenthood Los Angeles
Ninez Ponce, Ph.D., MPP, Associate Center Director, UCLA Center for Health Policy Research
Assemblymember Wendy Carrillo, District 51
Ana Grande, MAH, Associate Executive Director, Clínica Msr. Oscar A. Romero
Betzabel Estudillo, MSW, Senior Policy Manager, Health and Public Benefits, California Immigrant Policy Center